Please note that all public services have been suspended until further notice and all church buildings in the Church of England are now closed.

The Church continues to be alive and active, but our buildings must close. We are seeing a huge increase in the number of people falling sick with COVID-19. We must distance ourselves from one another and prevent the spread of infection in order to save lives.

Therefore, as well as public worship being suspended, the churches in our Benefice and all church buildings in the Church of England are now closed.

However, our worship of God and our care for each other continue.

Our website contains details of how to join others online for prayer, worship, study and community life.

See: www.lowerswalechurches.org.uk

The Church of England has also produced some prayers for people to use at home and these can be found at: www.churchofengland.org/coronavirus  or directly via the front page of the Leeds Diocesan website at www.leeds.anglican.org.

“Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul
and with all your mind and with all your strength . . .
Love your neighbour as yourself.
There is no commandment greater than these.”

To protect the vulnerable amongst us, please do not leave your home except for essential trips, in accordance with Government guidance.

Can I urge you all to look after one another. If you know of anyone who needs assistance please contact me on 01609 631122 or jennilane2013@btinternet.com and I will do my best to help or find someone who can.

These are challenging and difficult times, but through love of neighbour and self, we can support and encourage one another.

In faith, hope and love
Rev’d Jenni Lane

Our Prayers this week – click here
Prayers for this week


Welcome to our website for the churches in the Benefice of the Lower Swale. Our churches can be found in villages to the west of Northallerton in North Yorkshire.

The River Swale flows through our Benefice and we have named the two areas as ‘Eastern’ and ‘Western’ churches.

Eastern Churches:
Ainderby Steeple
Kirby Wiske
Western Churches:
Kirkby Fleetham
Fencote (now closed)


We are part of the Church of England in the Diocese of Leeds.

If you would like any more information which you cannot find on this site, please get in touch using the details on the Contacts page or on the individual church pages.  You can also find detailed maps showing the location of each church on the church pages.

We look forward to welcoming you to our churches and to our services and activities.